Going Public


This is an interesting one.  Follows on from what I was saying a couple of posts back, or even a post back, in that should I continue being anonymous?  Well, I just kind of blew that out of the water by offering to talk to a journalist on a national radio programme (sorry, I’m still in anonymity mode, it’s a hard habit to break).  I offered to talk about life as the wife of a criminal.  At the end of the interview I actually left thinking I had been really boring, that I’d nothing really to tell and there’s people out there who have worse lives than me.  Actually that is very true.  Compared to many I have a good life now – a roof over my head, I’m currently earning, I can even afford to put up my 26 year old nephew rent free whilst he attends our local college.  I even shopped in Waitrose today, although that was a mistake – I only went there because yesterday I saw they had meal for two for £10.00 and was overjoyed that this included a bottle of wine.  Heck, I’ve been drinking homemade elderflower for weeks now, my guts could do with some shop bought plonk.  Unfortunately, when I went back today, the offer had finished, but I did manage to find a pack of four fresh figs that were half price.  Yummy.  Our old house used to have a fig tree in the garden and that’s the one thing I do miss – big, fat, sun kissed fresh figs.   Sitting behind the gently curving wall that I myself partially built, in what became known as  the “rose garden”.  Hahaha.  Yes, it was a lovely house with a beautiful garden.  Compared to my vertically challenged back yard I now have… do I miss it…. NOOOOO (except for the fig tree).

Anyway, I digress.  Yes, so I finished the interview thinking I’d been boring but on the way out to the car park, I was accompanied by the guy that set up the interview room.  What a sweet lad.  Very apologetically, he told me he had heard what I had said, about my life post criminal prosecution, and revealed that his mother had been arrested and imprisoned for shop lifting many years ago.  His mum had subsequently only ever worked in low paid jobs, part time and had recently been diagnosed with cancer.  His mother actually said it was “god’s punishment” for her earlier misdemeanour’s.   Now how sad is that.  Here’s a woman who apparently got involved with the wrong crowd, shoplifted, got caught, took her punishment, but her own personal punishment continues throughout her life.

What are we – martyrs?  I know we can’t all be running around breaking the law but we can all make mistakes.  But to have to pay for that mistake throughout your life.  Heck no, that’s neither fair nor true.  Let one person look me in the eye and say they have never, ever, done anything wrong.  Doesn’t matter how small – like the £2.00 I took from the petty cash tin when I had no money for a lunchtime sandwich (Ms Perry, in case you are reading, this was about 25 years ago).  Have you never speeded, avoided paying your car parking ticket, found some money and not taken it to the police, fiddled your taxes (sorry “evaded”).  Most people try it on.  Most people have a limit to what they will try on and know where to stop.  But if you keep trying it on and don’t get caught, the temptation becomes too great.

I’ve digressed again, haven’t I.  I’m pleased I opened up on the radio.  And I will continue to proudly announce that my husband is currently in prison awaiting a better life when he is released.  Gay’s come out to the world – so should wives of prisoners!

One thought on “Going Public

Leave a Reply

